H.R. No. 400

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Times of great crisis often inspire noble actions, 2 and the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina proved to be no exception, as 3 evidenced by the many extraordinary relief efforts witnessed in 4 Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, In response to the overwhelming needs of hurricane 6 survivors relocated to Houston, 48 staff members of the Texas 7 Alcoholic Beverage Commission worked long shifts for eight days in 8 September 2005 at the George R. Brown Convention Center; TABC 9 employees from Austin, Beaumont, Bryan, Corpus Christi, and 10 Victoria joined agents from the Houston area to provide important 11 reinforcement for local police officers; and

12 WHEREAS, With the transformation of the center into an indoor 13 city, complete with thousands of residents, TABC agents were 14 essential in registering evacuees, providing security, and ensuring order; their professionalism and leadership contributed 15 greatly to the center's ability to provide a controlled, safe 16 environment for some 25,000 survivors who sought help there that 17 18 week; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed group of citizens did not hesitate to answer the state's urgent request for assistance during a most challenging time, and their generous and compassionate actions make us all proud to call ourselves Texans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
Legislature hereby commend the 48 agents of the Texas Alcoholic

1

Beverage Commission who participated in Hurricane Katrina relief efforts at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston for their remarkable support and extend to them sincere best wishes for happiness and success in the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission staff as an 7 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Noriega

H.R. No. 400

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 400

H.R. No. 400

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 400 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House