## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The celebrated Texas author David Marion Wilkinson 2 has brought distinction to himself and to the Lone Star State 3 through the success of his fine works of fiction and nonfiction; and WHEREAS, Born in Arkansas, Mr. Wilkinson moved to Texas in 4 5 1972 and graduated from The University of Texas with a bachelor's 6 degree in English in 1980; like many writers, he has had a peripatetic career, working as a carpenter, a mortgage loan 7 officer, a private investigator, and an oil field worker; and 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Wilkinson's work reflects both his own colorful 9 life story and his deep love of history; his first novel, Not 10 Between Brothers, an epic saga of the clash of cultures in the early 11 12 years of Texas, won the 1997 Violet Crown Award for fiction; his 13 second novel, The Empty Quarter, was inspired by his own experiences working in the oil fields of Saudi Arabia and the North 14 Sea; and 15 WHEREAS, Oblivion's Altar, Mr. Wilkinson's third novel, tells 16 the tragic story of the Cherokee Chief Major Ridge and won the 2003 17 18 Spur Award for Best Original Paperback; with Joaquin Jackson, Wilkinson penned One Ranger, a memoir of Jackson's dramatic career 19 as a Texas Ranger; recently released in paperback, it is the 20 21 fastest-selling book in the history of The University of Texas 22 Press; and

spectacular Big Bend country of West Texas, this outstanding writer

23

24

WHEREAS, Now working on a contemporary novel set in the

- 1 further contributes to the artistic life of Texas as
- 2 writer-in-residence at Sul Ross State University in Alpine; he also
- 3 sits on the board of Ozark Creative Writers and is a member of the
- 4 Western Writers of America; and
- 5 WHEREAS, With four fine books to date and more to come, David
- 6 Marion Wilkinson is a bright star in the firmament of Texas
- 7 literature, and through his service to the students of Sul Ross
- 8 State University, he is an inspiration and a mentor to young Texas
- 9 writers; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate David Marion Wilkinson on his many
- 12 accomplishments and commend him for his contribution to the
- 13 cultural heritage of the Lone Star State; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr.
- 15 Wilkinson as a token of high regard by the Texas House of
- 16 Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 411 was adopted by the House on February 14, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House