H.R. No. 412

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Mickey C. Havens is beginning a new chapter of his 2 life with his retirement on May 1, 2007, from his position as vice 3 president for administrative services at Sul Ross State University 4 in Alpine; and

5 WHEREAS, On graduating from high school in his hometown of 6 Belton, Mr. Havens answered his nation's call to duty, serving in 7 the United States Air Force in Japan, Vietnam, and England from 1967 8 to 1971; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Havens earned a bachelor's degree in business 10 administration from The University of Texas at Austin in 1974; 11 while still a student he worked for the Texas Educational Media 12 Program; he then worked as an assistant auditor for the State 13 Auditor's Office from 1974 until 1980; and

WHEREAS, He served for a time as director of finance with the Texas State University System and then moved to Sul Ross University in 1984 as vice president for business affairs; he received a master's degree in business administration from Sul Ross in 1990 and became vice president for administrative services in 1998; and

WHEREAS, In that position, Mr. Havens has overseen nearly \$92 million in construction projects at Sul Ross during one of the school's greatest periods of expansion; he has been instrumental in supervising the construction of the new University Center, the Pete P. Gallego Multi-Purpose Center, and the new residential complex, as well as the renovation of the Graves-Pierce Recreational Sports

1

Center, Warnock Science Building, Wildenthal Library, Centennial
 School, Turner Range Animal Science Center, Ferguson Hall Academic
 Center for Excellence, and Museum of the Big Bend; and

WHEREAS, He has also been an important participant in the preparation of endowment agreements, helping to increase the university's endowments from 28 endowments totaling about \$870,000 to 214 endowments for more than \$11 million; and

8 WHEREAS, Mickey C. Havens has been a key player in the 9 exciting expansion of Sul Ross State University, providing a steady 10 hand in the oversight of new construction and much-needed 11 continuity in the management of the university's physical 12 infrastructure, and he is most deserving of special recognition; 13 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Mickey C. Havens on his retirement from Sul Ross State University and extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr.
19 Havens as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
20 Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 412

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 412

H.R. No. 412

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 412 was adopted by the House on February 14, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House