RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 join the residents of Tarrant County and the Coalition of Tarrant
- 3 County Chambers of Commerce in celebrating Tarrant County Day at
- 4 the State Capitol on February 28, 2007; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Tarrant County was created in 1849 and named for
- 6 General Edward H. Tarrant; the third most populous county in Texas,
- 7 it is home to the international headquarters of such corporate
- 8 giants as American Airlines, Burlington Northern Santa Fe, Pier 1
- 9 Imports, and RadioShack; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Located in North Central Texas on the Grand Prairie
- 11 and the Blackland Prairie, Tarrant County is a popular area for
- 12 vacationing; the county boasts some of the Lone Star State's most
- 13 outstanding cultural attractions, including the Kimbell Art
- 14 Museum, the Amon G. Carter Museum, the Modern Art Museum of Fort
- 15 Worth, the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History, and the
- 16 National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Nationally famous for such tourism centers as the
- 18 Fort Worth Stockyards and Six Flags Over Texas, Tarrant County is
- often referred to as "Where the West Begins," and the flavor of the
- 20 Old West is still present today in the county's ranchland, museums,
- 21 art, and recreational centers; and
- WHEREAS, Tarrant County is also an important national and
- 23 international transportation crossroads located at the geographic
- 24 center of the hemisphere and at the intersection of a number of

- 1 major highway and rail corridors; moreover, it features such
- 2 outstanding air transportation facilities as the Dallas-Fort Worth
- 3 International Airport, Alliance Airport, and Meacham International
- 4 Airport; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The economic stability and diversity of the county
- 6 owe much to the leadership provided by the Coalition of Tarrant
- 7 County Chambers of Commerce, which represents more than 10,000
- 8 business organizations and brings together 25 chambers of commerce
- 9 from throughout Tarrant County; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Noted for its many contributions to the overall
- 11 quality of life in Tarrant County, the coalition supports public
- 12 policy initiatives that meet the needs of employers, employees, and
- 13 all area residents, and it builds productive partnerships between
- the business community and local, state, and federal governments to
- 15 facilitate positive growth in business and workforce development;
- 16 and
- 17 WHEREAS, The residents of Tarrant County, along with the
- 18 members of Tarrant County Chambers of Commerce, deserve credit for
- 19 maintaining the county's vitality and quality of life and for
- 20 preserving its frontier spirit in the face of urban growth and
- 21 industrial development; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize February 28, 2007, as Tarrant County
- 24 Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those visiting from

1 Tarrant County best wishes for an enjoyable and memorable day.

Smith of Tarrant	Burnam
Geren	Hancock
Mowery	Patrick
Pierson	Truitt
Veasey	Zedler

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Guillen Bailey Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt England Macias Turner Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 422 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House