H.R. No. 436

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. David L. Lambert has been awarded the 2007 Henry 2 Norris Russell Prize from the American Astronomical Society, and 3 this achievement offers an opportunity to recognize Dr. Lambert for his distinguished career; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Born and educated in England, David Lambert obtained a bachelor's degree in physics in 1960 and a doctoral degree in 6 solar physics in 1965 from the University of Oxford; after teaching 7 at Oxford and completing a research fellowship in California, he 8 joined the faculty at The University of Texas at Austin in 1969; he 9 now holds the Isabel McCutcheon Harte Centennial Chair in Astronomy 10 11 at UT; he was the chair of the Astronomy Department from 2002 to 12 2003, and he is currently the director of McDonald Observatory; and 13 WHEREAS, Dr. Lambert is credited with energizing the UT 14

astronomy program; among other accomplishments, he brought McDonald Observatory's Hobby Eberly Telescope to the first rank of research telescopes, headed efforts to create the Dark Energy Experiment, and led the university's involvement in the next generation of astronomical machines, the Giant Magellan Telescope;

19 and

15

16

17

18

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, In addition to his administrative duties, Dr. Lambert has conducted extensive astronomical research for more than four decades, compiling over 450 publications, 375 of which are in refereed journals; he is responsible for establishing and being the leading scientist in the fields of cosmochemistry and

H.R. No. 436

- 1 galactochemodynamics; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Lambert has been recognized with many
- 3 prestigious awards and appointments including a John Simon
- 4 Guggenheim Memorial Fellowship in 1980 and the Dannie Heinemann
- 5 Prize for Astrophysics from the American Institute of Physics and
- 6 the American Astronomical Society in 1987; and
- WHEREAS, Receiving the 2007 Henry Norris Russell Prize is yet
- 8 another significant commendation for this esteemed scientist; the
- 9 highest distinction conferred by the American Astronomical
- 10 Society, the Russell Prize recognizes Dr. Lambert as one of the
- 11 nation's preeminent astronomers; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby commend Dr. David L. Lambert for the many
- 14 contributions he has made to the field of astronomy and
- 15 congratulate him on his receipt of the 2007 Henry Norris Russell
- 16 Prize; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for Dr. Lambert as an expression of high regard by the
- 19 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

## H.R. No. 436

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto
Burnam Callegari Castro	Heflin Hernandez Herrero	Parker Patrick Paxton
Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb	Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes	Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle
Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel	Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala	Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons
Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias	Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez	Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey
Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia	Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt	Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

TT	$\Box$	TAT	436
Н	R	$N \cap$	4 3 h

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 436 was adopted by the House on March 22, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House