By: Gallego

H.R. No. 436

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. David L. Lambert has been awarded the 2007 Henry 2 Norris Russell Prize from the American Astronomical Society, and 3 this achievement offers an opportunity to recognize Dr. Lambert for 4 his distinguished career; and

WHEREAS, Born and educated in England, David Lambert obtained 5 6 a bachelor's degree in physics in 1960 and a doctoral degree in solar physics in 1965 from the University of Oxford; after teaching 7 at Oxford and completing a research fellowship in California, he 8 joined the faculty at The University of Texas at Austin in 1969; he 9 now holds the Isabel McCutcheon Harte Centennial Chair in Astronomy 10 11 at UT; he was the chair of the Astronomy Department from 2002 to 12 2003, and he is currently the director of McDonald Observatory; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Lambert is credited with energizing the UT astronomy program; among other accomplishments, he brought McDonald Observatory's Hobby Eberly Telescope to the first rank of research telescopes, headed efforts to create the Dark Energy Experiment, and led the university's involvement in the next generation of astronomical machines, the Giant Magellan Telescope; and

20 WHEREAS, In addition to his administrative duties, Dr. 21 Lambert has conducted extensive astronomical research for more than 22 four decades, compiling over 450 publications, 375 of which are in 23 refereed journals; he is responsible for establishing and being the 24 leading scientist in the fields of cosmochemistry and

1

H.R. No. 436

1 galactochemodynamics; and

2 WHEREAS, Dr. Lambert has been recognized with many 3 prestigious awards and appointments including a John Simon 4 Guggenheim Memorial Fellowship in 1980 and the Dannie Heinemann 5 Prize for Astrophysics from the American Institute of Physics and 6 the American Astronomical Society in 1987; and

7 WHEREAS, Receiving the 2007 Henry Norris Russell Prize is yet 8 another significant commendation for this esteemed scientist; the 9 highest distinction conferred by the American Astronomical 10 Society, the Russell Prize recognizes Dr. Lambert as one of the 11 nation's preeminent astronomers; now, therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 13 Legislature hereby commend Dr. David L. Lambert for the many 14 contributions he has made to the field of astronomy and 15 congratulate him on his receipt of the 2007 Henry Norris Russell 16 Prize; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for Dr. Lambert as an expression of high regard by the 19 Texas House of Representatives.

2