RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the government honors program at The University of Texas at Dallas are visiting the State Capitol on February 21, 2007, to gain further insight into the workings of state government; and

WHEREAS, The School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences at UTD offers outstanding programs in such challenging disciplines as political science, public affairs, public policy, and political economy; the university has won recognition for its commitment to fostering interest in state government, policy making, and civic responsibility among students in the school's Collegium V Honors Program and the McDermott Scholars Program through the Center for the Study of Texas Politics; and

WHEREAS, The accomplished young men and women who are currently studying Texas politics and leadership in these programs have demonstrated the impressive drive and commitment that will continue to serve them well beyond their days at UTD, and it is indeed appropriate to honor the university and these future leaders of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby commend The University of Texas at Dallas for the rich educational opportunities that it offers and extend an official welcome to the university's president, Dr. David Daniel, to the director of the Center for the Study of Texas Politics, Professor Greg Thielemann, and to the members of the government

1 honors program visiting on this day.

Hill Madden Goolsby

Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Fischer Martinez McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 444 was adopted by the House on February 21, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House