By: Zerwas

H.R. No. 460

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Rita Myatt Radley has been named the 2006 Citizen of
 the Year by the El Campo Chamber of Commerce and Agriculture; and

3 WHEREAS, The Citizen of the Year award was created to honor El 4 Campo residents who have worked to make a positive difference in 5 their community; and

6 WHEREAS, A native of El Campo, Mrs. Radley has long striven to 7 make her hometown a better place in which to live, work, and raise a 8 family; active in the local Elks Lodge, she has led the organization 9 and has helped with its scholarship initiative; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Radley has chaired the Lower Colorado River 10 11 Authority board and the Wharton County Junior College foundation 12 board, served on the board of the El Campo Museum Society, helped to 13 found the BEE's beautification organization, and volunteered her 14 time to the El Campo Garden Club and the local Girl Scouts of the USA; the First Presbyterian Church has benefited from her 15 leadership as an elder and deacon, and she earned the distinction of 16 becoming the first female president of the El Campo chamber; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Now a great-grandmother, she continues to be an 19 invaluable asset to her community; currently working with the new 20 El Campo Heritage Center, she has helped to raise \$200,000 in grants 21 for this important facility; and

22 WHEREAS, Rita Radley's outstanding leadership and untiring 23 efforts in behalf of her community have truly enhanced the lives of 24 her neighbors, and she is an inspiration to all those who have been

1

H.R. No. 460

1 privileged to know her; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Rita Myatt Radley on her receipt of the 2006 Citizen of the Year award from the El Campo Chamber of Commerce and Agriculture and commend her for her service to her fellow residents; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mrs. Radley as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.