H.R. No. 464

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of Texas 2 is pleased to welcome the Texas Association of Fairs and Events 3 delegation to Austin for the Official Texas Fair and Event Day at 4 the Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, The Texas Association of Fairs and Events has been 6 serving the fair and special events industry in Texas for more than 7 80 years and is celebrating this year with an Official Fair and 8 Event Day at the Capitol on Tuesday, February 20; and

9 WHEREAS, For more than 100 years, fairs have annually 10 showcased Texas' finest agricultural products and technology and 11 have provided entertainment and educational and recreational 12 opportunities; and

WHEREAS, Fairs are held throughout Texas each year to advance and promote the education of Texas youths and to affirm life values; they help to develop responsible and informed citizens, particularly those in 4-H, FFA, and FHA, by providing healthy competition through an unparalleled forum of exhibits in arts, livestock, horticulture, and agriculture; and

WHEREAS, Fairs in Texas contribute millions of dollars annually to Texas youths through scholarships, premiums, and auction proceeds; and

22 WHEREAS, There are also more than 200 events held in Texas 23 that promote and develop the tourism industry and commerce and 24 provide the public with an environment rich in entertainment

1

choices, educational opportunities, and recreational pursuits; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby welcome and extend best wishes to the members of the Texas Association of Fairs and Events delegation; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for the
Texas Association of Fairs and Events delegation as a memento of
this special occasion.

Flores

H.R. No. 464

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Fischer Martinez McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 464

H.R. No. 464

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 464 was adopted by the House on February 20, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House