H.R. No. 476

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Multiple Sclerosis (MS) is a chronic and disabling
disease of the central nervous system in which the progression,
severity, and specific symptoms cannot be foreseen; and

WHEREAS, Every hour of every day, someone new is diagnosed with MS, a disease that can erode a person's abilities and hopes, halt a career, and unravel the fabric of families; and

7 WHEREAS, Last year in Texas more than \$17 million was raised 8 to find the cure for MS and develop effective treatments for the 9 disease, as well as to provide a wide range of programs to improve 10 the lives of the more than 20,000 individuals living with MS in our 11 state; and

12 WHEREAS, This investment is paying off in significant 13 advances in treating MS, including new medications which may reduce 14 or delay future disability for people with MS; and

15 WHEREAS, While research advances have brought us closer to 16 finding the cure, much remains to be done, and services must 17 continue to be provided to those who live with the disease; and

18 WHEREAS, There are public and private agencies available to 19 serve the constantly changing needs of those living with MS in Texas 20 and their families, and it is imperative to extend these essential 21 services to all in need; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby recognize March 2-11, 2007, as Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Week in Texas and encourage all who work in this

1

H.R. No. 476

1 vital area to inform Texans about MS and MS services.

McClendon

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Fischer Martinez McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 476

3

H.R. No. 476

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 476 was adopted by the House on February 20, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House