RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Community colleges play a vital role in the Lone 2 Star State, and on this day, representatives of the Texas 3 Association of Community Colleges, Texas Community College 4 Teachers Association, and Texas Junior College Student Government 5 Association, as well as students from Texas community college 6 honors programs and Phi Theta Kappa members, are visiting the State 7 Capitol to show their support of these essential institutions; and

WHEREAS, Higher education affords significant benefits to 8 both individuals and to society at large; those who complete 9 degrees generally 10 postsecondary enjoy more employment 11 opportunities, higher salaries, and greater job satisfaction than 12 those who do not, while states with a well-educated citizenry see 13 such positive gains as increased tax revenue, improved health, and 14 reduced poverty, crime, and unemployment; and

15 WHEREAS, Students attending Texas community, junior, and technical colleges receive instruction from highly dedicated and 16 knowledgeable faculties; teachers of academic transfer courses are 17 required to possess the same minimum credentials as university 18 faculty in order for their colleges to be certified by the Southern 19 Association of Colleges and Schools, while instructors in workforce 20 21 disciplines must also meet the rigorous standards of accrediting 22 agencies; and

23 WHEREAS, Texas community colleges constitute a critical 24 component of the state's system of higher education; currently,

1

these schools are educating 74 percent of all freshmen and sophomores and 76 percent of all minority freshmen and sophomores attending Texas public postsecondary institutions; moreover, most of the growth in the state's higher education enrollment is taking place in the community colleges, whose enrollment in the fall of 2005 accounted for 67 percent of that increase; and

7 WHEREAS, The ethnic composition of the community college 8 student bodies almost exactly mirrors the ethnic profile of the 9 state, signifying the importance of these schools to communities 10 that have traditionally had less access to higher education; and

WHEREAS, Increasingly, states need well-educated workforces 11 12 to attract and retain high-paying businesses and industries; for 13 Texas to prosper in the years ahead, it will be necessary for still 14 greater percentages of all ethnic groups, and especially of traditionally disadvantaged populations, to acquire higher 15 16 education than presently enrolled postsecondary are in institutions; and 17

18 WHEREAS, If Texas and its citizens are to meet the challenges 19 of the new global economy, it is crucial that quality higher 20 education be accessible to all who need and want it, and a strong 21 system of community colleges will be instrumental to achieving that 22 goal; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2007, as Texas Community Colleges Day in tribute to the immeasurable contribution those schools are making to the well-being of this state and its citizens.

> Herrero Bonnen Pickett Patrick Escobar

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega 0'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 509 was adopted by the House on February 22, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House