H.R. No. 552

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Jacinta R. Alvarez of Lubbock, a member of the Boys & Girls Clubs of America, is being honored as a participant in the 2007 Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Reader's Digest Foundation since 1947, the Youth of the Year program recognizes outstanding club members for their contributions to their families, schools, communities, and local Boys & Girls Clubs; winners are chosen on the basis of their scholastic achievement, leadership abilities, consistent demonstration of good character, and community service; and

WHEREAS, A member of the Lubbock Boys & Girls Clubs for 12 years, Jacinta Alvarez has been involved in a number of club activities such as working as a junior staff member and assisting with the POWER Hour and SMART Moves projects; enrolled in an Engineering Magnet Program at Estacado High School that involves robotics, Ms. Alvarez has maintained an impressive 4.12 grade point average in her overall studies her senior year and plans to study mechanical engineering in college; her extracurricular activities include leading an alcohol and drug awareness program, serving as president of the Spanish Club, and supporting her school as head cheerleader; and

WHEREAS, In her endeavors, Jacinta Alvarez has demonstrated a sincere commitment to improving her local community and has distinguished herself as a young person of integrity and immense

H.R. No. 552

- 1 promise; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Jacinta R. Alvarez for
- 4 participating in the Boys & Girls Clubs of America 2007 Youth of the
- 5 Year program and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
- 6 success; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Ms. Alvarez as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 552

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 552 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House