By: Dutton H.R. No. 553

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Shamere Welcome of Houston, a member of the Boys & Girls Clubs of America, is being honored as a participant in the 2007 Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Reader's Digest Foundation since 1947, the Youth of the Year program recognizes outstanding club members for their contributions to their families, schools, communities, and local Boys & Girls Clubs; winners are chosen on the basis of their scholastic achievement, leadership abilities, consistent demonstration of good character, and community service; and

WHEREAS, A member of the Salvation Army Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Houston for four years, Shamere Welcome has assumed a leadership role in a number of the organization's initiatives, including serving as president of the Keystone Club, volunteering as a POWER Hour tutor, and working as a computer lab instructor; in addition, she is active in the Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America group at Eisenhower High School, where this high school senior is also a member of the color guard and the pep squad; interested in helping others, Ms. Welcome performs volunteer work for the Veterans Affairs Medical Center and the Salvation Army, and she assisted the victims of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita at a local shelter; she plans to study mathematics in college and to one day work as a teacher; and

WHEREAS, In her endeavors, Shamere Welcome has demonstrated a

H.R. No. 553

- 1 sincere commitment to improving her local community and has
- 2 distinguished herself as a young person of integrity and immense
- 3 promise; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate Shamere Welcome for participating
- 6 in the Boys & Girls Clubs of America 2007 Youth of the Year program
- 7 and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be
- 8 it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for Ms. Welcome as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.