H.R. No. 555

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Alvin E. Jordan of Dallas, a member of the Boys &
 Girls Clubs of America, is being honored as a participant in the
 2007 Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Reader's Digest Foundation since 1947, the Youth of the Year program recognizes outstanding club members for their contributions to their families, schools, communities, and local Boys & Girls Clubs; winners are chosen on the basis of their scholastic achievement, leadership abilities, consistent demonstration of good character, and community service; and

WHEREAS, A member of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Dallas 11 12 for 12 years, Alvin Jordan has been active in a number of the group's initiatives, including serving as president of the Keystone 13 14 Club and assisting with outreach and fund-raising activities; now a senior at Greenhill College Preparatory School, where he plays 15 basketball and football, he is a four-year letterman in football 16 and was named the team's MVP this year, all while maintaining his 17 status as an honor roll student; Mr. Jordan also serves as a junior 18 deacon in his church, teaches Sunday school, and devotes his time to 19 visiting the sick and elderly; he plans to study business 20 21 management and marketing in college; and

22 WHEREAS, In his endeavors, Alvin Jordan has demonstrated a 23 sincere commitment to improving his local community and has 24 distinguished himself as a young person of integrity and immense

1

H.R. No. 555

1 promise; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Alvin E. Jordan for participating in the Boys & Girls Clubs of America 2007 Youth of the Year program and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Jordan as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 555

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 555 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House