H.R. No. 556

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Brittny Cantero of Wharton, a member of the Boys & Girls Clubs of America, is being honored as a participant in the 2007 Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Reader's Digest Foundation since 1947, the Youth of the Year program recognizes outstanding club members for their contributions to their families, schools, communities, and local Boys & Girls Clubs; winners are chosen on the basis of their scholastic achievement, leadership abilities, consistent demonstration of good character, and community service; and

WHEREAS, A member of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Wharton for five years, Brittny Cantero has been active in a number of the group's initiatives, teaching arts and crafts and serving as a tutor for the POWER Hour program; Ms. Cantero is a senior and president of the Spanish Club at Wharton High School, where she also takes part in such organizations as Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America, the student council, and Peer Assistance Leadership Skills; she is a member of the Anchor Club as well, and she has helped the club plan various community events, including the Relay for Life Walk-a-thon and the Special Olympics; she plans to study medicine in college; and

WHEREAS, In her endeavors, Brittny Cantero has demonstrated a sincere commitment to improving her local community and has distinguished herself as a young person of integrity and immense

H.R. No. 556

- 1 promise; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Brittny Cantero for participating
- 4 in the Boys & Girls Clubs of America 2007 Youth of the Year program
- 5 and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be
- 6 it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Ms. Cantero as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 556

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 556 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House