H.R. No. 558

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Keanna D. Franklin of Gainesville, a member of the
 Boys & Girls Clubs of America, is being honored as a participant in
 the 2007 Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Reader's Digest Foundation since 1947, the Youth of the Year program recognizes outstanding club members for their contributions to their families, schools, communities, and local Boys & Girls Clubs; winners are chosen on the basis of their scholastic achievement, leadership abilities, consistent demonstration of good character, and community service; and

WHEREAS, A member of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Cooke County 11 12 for eight years, Keanna Franklin has taken part in a number of the group's initiatives, including the Little Angel program and food 13 14 and clothing drives; this high school junior has served as the student body president of Gainesville High School for two years and 15 competes in track and field and basketball; Ms. Franklin earned 16 district honors as a choir performer and received the Violet 17 Richardson Award from Soroptimist International of the Americas; 18 active in her church, she is president of the congregation's 19 Christian youth fellowship, and she plans to study business 20 21 management in college; and

22 WHEREAS, In her endeavors, Ms. Franklin has demonstrated a 23 sincere commitment to improving her local community and has 24 distinguished herself as a young person of integrity and immense

1

H.R. No. 558

1 promise; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Keanna D. Franklin for 4 participating in the Boys & Girls Clubs of America 2007 Youth of the 5 Year program and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued 6 success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Franklin as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 558

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 558 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House