H.R. No. 561

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Prince Complex, Incorporated, in Houston is
 recognizing five outstanding honorees at its 2007 Gala, "A Knockout
 Affair," on March 1, 2007; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception in 1998, the nonprofit organization has offered athletic, recreational, and academic programs to thousands of disadvantaged youths in Houston, and this annual fund-raiser seeks to heighten awareness of this important facility and the services it provides in the community; and

9 WHEREAS, The Honorable Sheila Jackson Lee is one of the 10 individuals being recognized at the 2007 gala; a former associate 11 municipal court judge for the City of Houston, Congresswoman 12 Jackson Lee is currently serving her seventh term as a member of the 13 United States House of Representatives, representing the 18th 14 Congressional District of Texas; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed legislator serves on the House Committees on the Judiciary, Homeland Security, and Foreign Affairs; the author of several immigration bills, she is also a founder, member, and cochair of the Congressional Children's Caucus, the Pakistan Caucus, the Afghan Caucus, and the Algerian Caucus; and

21 WHEREAS, The 2007 honorees have demonstrated an unwavering 22 dedication to excellence in their respective fields of expertise 23 while maintaining a steadfast commitment to helping others, and the 24 receipt of this award brings well-deserved recognition to their

1

H.R. No. 561

1 many contributions; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee on being named an honoree of the Prince Complex, Incorporated, 2007 Gala and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success in all her endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Congresswoman Jackson Lee as an expression of high
regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 561

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 561 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House