RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Family and friends were deeply saddened by the 2 passing of Tiburcio Acosta of Marfa on February 10, 2007, but the 3 memory of his accomplished life and the many happy times spent in
- s memory of his accomprished fire and the many happy times spent in
- 4 his company may offer a measure of comfort in their time of loss;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, "Butch" Acosta was born on March 20, 1944, in Marfa;
- 7 he attended Sul Ross State University and earned his master's
- 8 degree in bilingual education; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Acosta began his professional career during his
- junior year of college when he taught at St. Mary's School in Marfa;
- 11 he later was a teacher in Presidio and served at Redford School for
- 12 26 years, both as an instructor and as principal, and when the
- 13 Redford school closed, he became a parent liaison in Marfa before he
- 14 retired in 2004; and
- WHEREAS, Highly regarded by all who knew him, Butch Acosta
- 16 was a loving husband, father, and grandfather, whose contributions
- 17 to the youth of the Lone Star State will not soon be forgotten; he
- 18 will be deeply missed, but he will always be remembered with the
- 19 greatest respect and admiration; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Tiburcio Acosta and
- 22 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife,
- 23 Gloria B. Acosta; to his children, Maria Blanca Cisneros, Tiburcio
- 24 B. Acosta, and Rafael B. Acosta; to his grandchildren, Brandon

- 1 Dean, Rafael Diego, Luis Rey, Eric Fernando, and Michelle Annette
- 2 Acosta and Yazmin Natali Cisneros; to his sisters, Catarina A.
- 3 Martinez and Abigail Acosta; to his brother, Saul Acosta; and to his
- 4 other relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Tiburcio
- 8 Acosta.

Gallego

Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 588 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 15, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House