By: Dukes

H.R. No. 601

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Musicians, music fans, and activists are joining 2 forces to address a critical issue at the Roky Erickson Ice Cream 3 Social/Rock to Ban Shock Concert, which is taking place March 15, 4 2007, at Threadgill's World Headquarters in Austin; and

5 WHEREAS, Sponsored in part by the Coalition for the Abolition 6 of Electroshock in Texas, this event focuses attention on the use of 7 electroshock or electroconvulsive therapy as a form of psychiatric 8 treatment; and

9 WHEREAS, The concert features an impressive lineup of 10 performers from Texas and other states, including rock legend Roky 11 Erickson, who first made his name as a member of the influential 12 1960s band the 13th Floor Elevators; a fitting headliner for this 13 consciousness-raising event, Roky Erickson was subjected to 14 electroshock treatments while committed to a state hospital in the 15 late 1960s and early 1970s; and

16 WHEREAS, Also appearing will be J. T. Van Zandt, the son of 17 the late Townes Van Zandt, a famous Texas songwriter who, likewise, 18 underwent electroconvulsive therapy; well-known Austin artist Jim 19 Franklin is another electroshock survivor and has designed the 20 poster for the Rock to Ban Shock Concert; and

21 WHEREAS, Texas is a state that has produced many great 22 musicians, and it is also blessed with a population that takes a 23 keen interest in issues of social importance; the Roky Erickson Ice 24 Cream Social/Rock to Ban Shock Concert is an exciting mix of music

1

H.R. No. 601
and public expression that promises to be an engaging, educational,
and inspiring gathering for all; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize the Roky Erickson Ice Cream 5 Social/Rock to Ban Shock Concert and extend best wishes to the 6 participants and performers for a successful and enjoyable event; 7 and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the organizers as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

2