H.R. No. 607

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Jay Arnold is retiring from Goodwill Industries of 2 Central Texas in 2007, drawing to a close a notable tenure that 3 spanned more than two decades; and

WHEREAS, Currently serving the company as vice president of retail services, Ms. Arnold joined Goodwill 22 years ago as a store manager, and her skill and determination led to her rapid rise through the ranks; and

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Under Ms. Arnold's leadership, Goodwill Industries of Central Texas has climbed in national standing from No. 45 to No. 14 overall; the retail department has grown from a \$2.2 million operation in 1986 to an enterprise that generated more than \$25 million in 2006; moreover, donations have increased 185 percent, and locally, Goodwill has increased from seven thrift stores, supported by nine Attended Donation Centers (ADCs), to 23 stores and 25 donation centers; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Arnold has overseen the establishment of two very successful outlet stores, both generating sales of more than \$1 million annually; she was also integral in the decision to sell books at ADC sites, and the revenue generated from this venture now covers nearly 80 percent of rent; and

WHEREAS, Throughout her career, Jay Arnold has set a notable example of professionalism to which all may aspire, and she may reflect with pride on her many achievements as she prepares to embark on a well-deserved retirement; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 607

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Jay Arnold on her retirement from
- 3 Goodwill Industries of Central Texas and extend to her sincere best
- 4 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Arnold as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Naishtat

	_	3.7	607
Н	1)	NO	(-1)/

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 607 was adopted by the House on March 7, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House