H.R. No. 616

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, U.S. Army Private First Class Michael Fletcher of 2

Pasadena has returned home from Iraq after sustaining serious

injuries in service to his country, and he is being honored at a

reception on March 2, 2007; and 4

WHEREAS, Deployed to Iraq in June 2006, Private Fletcher 5

served as a mortarman on a Stryker Brigade Combat Team; he was

wounded in January 2007 when a rocket-propelled grenade hit his

Stryker unit; after receiving emergency surgery in Iraq and 8

reconstructive surgery in Germany, he underwent rehabilitative

treatment in San Antonio; and 10

WHEREAS, Born on August 21, 1984, Michael Fletcher graduated 11

in 2002 from Sam Rayburn High School and went on to attend San

Jacinto Community College, where he studied auto mechanics; he

worked for Rhodes Automotive and PMA Mastertech before joining the

army in 2004; before deployment, he was based at Fort Lewis, 15

Washington; and 16

3

6

7

9

12

13

14

18

21

22

WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to 17

Private Fletcher and to all of the country's military personnel,

for they are called on to bear great, often unimaginable, burdens, 19

20 and they render service and sacrifice that is truly beyond measure;

through his unfaltering devotion to duty, honor, and this nation,

he embodies the highest ideals of the U.S. armed forces, and he has

23 earned the lasting respect and gratitude of all who know him; now,

24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 616

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend U.S. Army Private First Class Michael
- 3 Fletcher for his brave and steadfast service in Iraq and extend to
- 4 him sincere best wishes for his continuing recovery; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Private Fletcher as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Talton

H.R. No. 616

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 616 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House