H.R. No. 623

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sergeant Troy Galvan of San Antonio rescued a woman 2 from a burning vehicle on February 13, 2006, and he was awarded the 3 Soldier's Medal for his heroic actions; and

WHEREAS, A staff member at the Carl R. Darnall Army Medical Center at Fort Hood, Sergeant Galvan was heading east on U.S. Highway 190 when he witnessed a sport utility vehicle hit a concrete post and then burst into flames; stopping to help, he discovered the driver alive, and, with the assistance of two other passersby, he was able to pull her out through the back of the vehicle just seconds before it exploded; and

WHEREAS, Fate could hardly have placed a more qualified person than Sergeant Galvan at the scene of this life-threatening accident; not only trained in vehicle extraction, he served for a year as a combat medic in Iraq and, as it happened, the life he saved was that of a fellow soldier; and

16 WHEREAS, In the face of imminent danger, Troy Galvan 17 sacrificed his own safety to come to the aid of another, and his 18 courageous and selfless efforts successfully averted a potential 19 tragedy; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 21 Legislature hereby commend Sergeant Troy Galvan for his exemplary 22 act of heroism and congratulate him on his receipt of the Soldier's 23 Medal; and, be it further

24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

1

H.R. No. 623
1 prepared for Sergeant Galvan as an expression of high regard by the
2 Texas House of Representatives.

Aycock

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 623

Miles

H.R. No. 623

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 623 was adopted by the House on March 15, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House