H.R. No. 624

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Major John Oh was awarded the Soldier's Medal for 1 2 his selfless efforts to save a wounded soldier's life during March 3 2006; and WHEREAS, Stationed at Camp Aned on the border between 4 5 Afghanistan and Pakistan, Major Oh served as a general surgeon with 6 the 759th Medical Detachment, Forward Surgical Team (Airborne), 7 Task Force Med; although every day brought its unique challenges, this day he was faced with an especially dangerous situation when he 8 9 discovered an unexploded rocket-propelled grenade protruding from the stomach of a new patient; he ordered everyone out of the 10 11 battalion aid station while he donned his body armor and ballistic 12 helmet and quickly determined the necessary course of action; then, following intubation and X-ray procedures, Major Oh led a team of 13 14 six in an operation that safely removed the grenade; and WHEREAS, Major John Oh has since gone on to become chief of 15 general surgery at Carl R. Darnall Army Medical Center at Fort Hood, 16 but his decisive and heroic actions that fateful day will not soon 17 18 be forgotten; thanks to his bravery, skill, and personal sacrifice, a potential tragedy was successfully averted; now, therefore, be it 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 20 21 Legislature hereby commend Major John Oh for his exemplary actions in the midst of a critical medical event and congratulate him on his 22

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

receipt of the Soldier's Medal; and, be it further

23

24

H.R. No. 624

- 1 prepared for Major Oh as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 2 House of Representatives.

Aycock Murphy Zerwas

H.R. No. 624

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost

Zedler

Zerwas

Menendez

Merritt

Gallego

Garcia

TT	_	7. T	624
н	ν	$N \cap$	624

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 624 was adopted by the House on March 15, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House