H.R. No. 625

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel William Brock of Dallas was awarded the Army Commendation Medal with Valor device for his 2 3 crucial role in the life-saving surgery of a wounded soldier in March 2006; and 4 WHEREAS, Stationed at Camp Aned on the border between 5 Afghanistan and Pakistan, Lieutenant Colonel Brock served as a 6 7 member of the 759th Medical Detachment, Forward Surgical Team (Airborne), Task Force Med; although every day brought its unique 8 challenges, this day he was called on to perform an exceptionally 9 dangerous task, when an unexploded rocket-propelled grenade was 10 discovered in the stomach of a new patient; before Major John Oh, 11 12 general surgeon, could perform surgery, the patient required 13 intubation to receive necessary fluids, and this duty was assigned 14 to Lieutenant Colonel Brock; wearing a body armor vest and a ballistic helmet over his scrubs, he successfully performed the 15 operation, paving the way for the X-ray procedure and surgery that 16 followed; and 17 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel Brock responded to a critical 18 medical event with bravery, skill, and selfless dedication, and his 19 20 actions are deserving of our deepest respect; now, therefore, be it 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 22 Legislature hereby commend Lieutenant Colonel William Brock for his significant contribution to the life-saving surgery of a wounded 23 24 soldier and congratulate him on his receipt of the

H.R. No. 625

- 1 Commendation Medal with Valor device; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for Lieutenant Colonel Brock as an expression of high
- 4 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Aycock Zerwas

H.R. No. 625

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

	_	3.7	$\sim \sim 1$
Н	1)	NO	(a) b

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 625 was adopted by the House on March 15, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House