H.R. No. 649

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A delegation of registered nurses and licensed 2 vocational nurses is gathering in Austin on March 6, 2007, to 3 celebrate Nurse Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Many of the nurses here today are members of the Texas Nurses Association, which is observing the milestone of its centennial in 2007; and

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

WHEREAS, Currently, 150,000 registered nurses and 64,000 licensed vocational nurses care for Texans every day in hospitals and nursing homes, through home health care agencies, and in other settings throughout the state, but Texas is facing a critical shortage of nurses, as well as the challenge of ensuring that our nursing schools can train the nurses that the state needs; and

WHEREAS, Nursing is among the most respected of all callings, and Nurse Day at the State Capitol provides a fitting opportunity to honor these esteemed health care professionals; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
18 Legislature hereby recognize March 6, 2007, as Nurse Day at the
19 State Capitol and commend those nurses visiting here today for
20 their service to their fellow Texans.

King of Taylor Howard of Travis

H.R. No. 649

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Guillen Bailey Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Hamilton Bohac Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Quintanilla Corte Raymond Crabb Riddle Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt England Macias Turner Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn Woolley McReynolds Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

TT	_	3. T	649
н	-	$N \cap$	6/10

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 649 was adopted by the House on March 6, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House