By: Farias

H.R. No. 657

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Patricia Burkhardt, of the East Central Independent
 School District in San Antonio, has been named the 2007 Region 20
 Elementary Teacher of the Year by the Texas Education Agency; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding instructor taught high school English for nine years before choosing to stay home full time with her children; soon, however, she started volunteering at their elementary school, and that involvement led her back to the classroom, first as a substitute teacher and eventually as a member of the staff; and

WHEREAS, Currently at Oak Crest Elementary 10 School, 11 Ms. Burkhardt has taught fourth grade in the East Central ISD for 12 years; during that time, she has served as grade level leader and as 12 a mentor to university students and first-year teachers; she 13 14 encourages those she counsels to be actively involved in the learning and teaching process, to stay well informed, and to have 15 high expectations of their students while meeting their daily 16 responsibilities with tolerance, energy, excitement, caring, and 17 18 resiliency; and

WHEREAS, Before winning recognition at the regional level, Ms. Burkhardt was named Teacher of the Year by her school, John Glenn Elementary, and chosen as Elementary Teacher of the Year by the East Central ISD; and

WHEREAS, Held in the greatest esteem by fellow educators,
Patricia Burkhardt excels in one of the most vital and challenging

1

of professions, and she is indeed deserving of special recognition on the occasion of her recent honor; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 657

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 4 Legislature hereby commend Patricia Burkhardt for the contributions she has made to the East Central Independent School 5 6 District and congratulate her on being named the 2007 Texas Education Agency Region 20 Elementary Teacher of the Year; and, be 7 it further 8

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for Ms. Burkhardt as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

2