RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the sorrow felt at
- 2 the loss of U.S. Marine Lance Corporal Benito A. Ramirez of
- 3 Edinburg, who died on May 21, 2006, at the age of 21, while serving
- 4 his country in Iraq; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A member of the 3rd Battalion, 5th Marine Regiment,
- 6 1st Marine Division, I Marine Expeditionary Force based at Camp
- 7 Pendleton, California, Lance Corporal Ramirez was killed during
- 8 combat operations in Al Anbar Province; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Lance Corporal Ramirez joined the Marines in
- 10 December 2002 and was trained as a 0331 machine gunner; he completed
- 11 two tours of duty in Operation Iraqi Freedom and embarked on his
- 12 third in January 2006; and
- WHEREAS, Highly decorated for his courageous service, Lance
- 14 Corporal Ramirez earned the Purple Heart, the Marine Corps Good
- 15 Conduct Medal, the Sea Service Deployment Ribbon with two bronze
- 16 stars, the Iraqi Campaign Medal, the Combat Action Ribbon, the
- 17 National Defense Service Medal, the Global War on Terrorism
- 18 Expeditionary Medal, and the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal;
- 19 and
- 20 WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the United States
- 21 Marine Corps, Benito Ramirez inspired others with his courage;
- 22 although his death leaves a void in the lives of his loved ones,
- 23 they will forever carry memories of him close in their hearts; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor the memory of Lance Corporal Benito A.
- 3 Ramirez and extend sincere sympathy to all those who mourn his
- 4 passing; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Lance
- 8 Corporal Benito A. Ramirez.

Flores Pena Martinez Gonzales

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 678 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 6, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House