## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The family and friends of U.S. Marine Sergeant Juan
2 Calderon, Jr., of Weslaco suffered an immeasurable loss with the
3 death of this valiant soldier on August 2, 2004, at the age of 26;
4 and
5 WHEREAS, Assigned to the 3rd Battalion, 1st Marine Regiment,
6 1st Marine Division, I Marine Expeditionary Force, based at Camp
7 Pendleton, California, Sergeant Calderon lost his life while

bravely serving his country in Al Anbar Province, Iraq; and

WHEREAS, Sergeant Calderon joined the Marines shortly after graduating from Weslaco High School in 1997; he completed tours of duty in Bosnia and Japan before being deployed to Iraq in 2004; and

WHEREAS, Along with his wife, Ana, he was eagerly awaiting the birth of his first child, with whom he looked forward to sharing his love of the Dallas Cowboys; his son, Juan Andres, was born one month after his death; and

WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt to our nation's servicemen and servicewomen, whose courageous efforts and enormous sacrifices are deserving of their fellow citizens' deepest respect and gratitude; through his unwavering dedication to duty and honor, Juan Calderon, Jr., embodied the highest ideals of the United States Marine Corps, and memories of his love and friendship will forever be cherished by all those who held him dear; now, therefore,

23 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby honor the memory of U.S. Marine Sergeant Juan
- 2 Calderon, Jr., and extend sincere sympathy to all those who mourn
- 3 his passing; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 6 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Sergeant
- 7 Juan Calderon, Jr.

Flores Martinez Pena Gonzales

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 680 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 6, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House