H.R. No. 682

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, U.S. Army Sergeant Javier Marin, Jr., of Mission was 2 killed on January 24, 2005, while serving in Iraq, and he leaves 3 behind a loving family and many friends; and

WHEREAS, Assigned to the 2nd Battalion, 2nd Infantry Regiment, 1st Infantry Division, Sergeant Marin served his country with distinction in Bosnia and Germany before his deployment to Iraq; a graduate of Mission High School, he aspired to one day become a U.S. Border Patrol agent; and

9 WHEREAS, Passionate in the performance of his duties and in 10 his desire to help others, Javier Marin, Jr., embodied the 11 qualities of selflessness, heroism, and valor, and the loved ones 12 of this fine young man will forever carry him close in their hearts; 13 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of U.S. Army Sergeant Javier Marin, Jr., and extend deepest sympathy to all those who mourn his passing; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 20 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Army 21 Sergeant Javier Marin, Jr.

> Flores Gonzales Pena Martinez

1

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 682

H.R. No. 682

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 682 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 6, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House