H.R. No. 691

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texans everywhere are indebted to the fine men and 2 women in the law enforcement profession who, by their selfless 3 dedication to public welfare, have enabled us to enjoy the benefits 4 of a peaceful and orderly society; and

5 WHEREAS, These gallant individuals willingly risk their 6 lives each day in order to ensure domestic tranquility and protect 7 the lives of others, earning the respect and admiration of their 8 peers and the greater community; and

9 WHEREAS, Police Officer Dwayne Freeto of the Fort Worth 10 Police Department exemplified in his personal and professional 11 conduct the singular virtues of courage, integrity, and unwavering 12 dedication; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his nine months on the force and previous service in the United States Army, his record was one of meritorious service, loyalty, personal bravery, and self-sacrifice consistent with the high ideals of the law enforcement profession; and

WHEREAS, Killed in the line of duty on December 17, 2006, his untimely death was a tragic loss to his family, to his fellow peace officers, and to the entire community; and

20 WHEREAS, His legacy of heroic dedication and self-sacrifice 21 will endure and continue to be a source of inspiration to those who 22 follow in a difficult but essential profession; now, therefore be 23 it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

24

1

H.R. No. 691

Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Police Officer Dwayne
Freeto of the Fort Worth Police Department and extend deepest
sympathy to his family, friends, and fellow officers; and, be it
further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House 7 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in the memory of 8 Police Officer Dwayne Freeto.

> Pierson Veasey

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 691

H.R. No. 691

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 691 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 6, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House