H.R. No. 727

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Students participating in the McDermott Scholars
Program are visiting the State Capitol, and this occasion provides
a fitting opportunity to recognize this outstanding program; and
WHEREAS, Since its establishment in the fall of 2000, the

WHEREAS, Since its establishment in the fall of 2000, the McDermott Scholars Program has sought to build a brighter future for Texans by attracting top students from throughout the state and across the nation to pursue their higher education at The University of Texas at Dallas; and

WHEREAS, The program, initiated by Margaret McDermott and named for her husband and the cofounder of Texas Instruments Eugene McDermott, selects participants who have demonstrated a commitment to academic excellence, community service, and leadership both on and off campus; and

WHEREAS, Through private endowment funds, these young men and women are presented with the opportunity to share in leadership training, fine arts education, and invaluable travel experiences, including regular visits to the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, the Dallas Opera, local museums, art galleries, plays, and concerts; in addition, first-year scholars are invited on trips to Austin and Washington, D.C., to meet with elected officials and experience the cultural diversity of our state's and nation's capitals; and

WHEREAS, McDermott Scholars represent our next generation of business leaders, scientists, physicians, professors, attorneys, and public servants, and they may indeed look to the future with

H.R. No. 727

1 anticipation and optimism as they await the opportunities that lie

2 ahead; now, therefore, be it

5

7

9

10

12

13

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

4 Legislature hereby commend Dr. David Daniel, president of

UT-Dallas, Dr. Charles W. Leonard, director of the Eugene McDermott

6 Scholars Program, Dr. Greg Thielemann, professor and director of

the Center for the Study of Texas Politics, and all those associated

8 with the McDermott Scholars Program for their commitment to

education and community service and extend to them sincere best

wishes for continued success; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That the house of representatives welcome the

McDermott Scholars Program delegation visiting on this day and that

an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the program as

14 an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hill Madden Branch Giddings Goolsby

H.R. No. 727

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Η.	R.	No.	727

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 727 was adopted by the House on March 28, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House