H.R. No. 736

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The family and friends of Texas State Trooper 2 Matthew DeWayne Myrick of Hereford sustained an immeasurable loss 3 with his untimely death on January 20, 2006, in the line of duty; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, A member of the Department of Public Safety since 6 2004, Trooper Myrick will long be remembered for his profound 7 dedication to public service and his tireless efforts in behalf of 8 his fellow citizens; and

9 WHEREAS, Matt Myrick was born on June 8, 1969, in Clovis, New 10 Mexico; he graduated from North Lamar High School in Paris, Texas, 11 in 1987 and served with the U.S. Navy from 1989 until 1991; 12 following his discharge, he earned two agriculture-related degrees 13 at Texas Tech University, a bachelor of science in 1994 and a master 14 of science in 2000; and

WHEREAS, Married to Christy Alison Butler since January 2, 16 1993, Matt Myrick was committed to his family and to his faith; a 17 devout Christian and valued member of the Hereford Church of the 18 Nazarene, he belonged to the church board, taught Sunday school, 19 and sang bass on the praise and worship team; and

20 WHEREAS, This courageous Texan exemplified the highest 21 standards of his profession, and those who loved him will forever 22 carry him close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Texas State Trooper

1

1 Matthew DeWayne Myrick and extend sincere sympathy to the members 2 of his family: to his wife, Christy Myrick; to his children, 3 Matilyn, Tate, Luke, and Embry; to his parents, Steve and Judy 4 Myrick; to his sister, Amanda Myrick; to his grandmothers, Nola 5 Myrick and Hazel Burford; and to his other relatives and friends; 6 and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 9 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of State 10 Trooper Matthew DeWayne Myrick.

Smithee

H.R. No. 736

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 736

Miles

H.R. No. 736

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 736 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 28, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House