H.R. No. 740

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Walter C. Holland of Pecos High School has received 2

the Texas Art Education Association's Art Educator of the Year

award, and he is being recognized by the National Art Education

Association at its convention; and 4

5 WHEREAS, A graduate of Denver City High School, Mr. Holland

received his bachelor of arts education degree from West Texas

State University and his master of arts education degree from Texas 7

Tech University; and 8

3

6

10

11

13

14

17

19

20

21

24

WHEREAS, With more than three decades of experience as an 9

educator at Pecos High School, he has served as the Art Gifted and

Talented Coordinator for 20 years, as well as teaching gifted and

12 talented art classes for elementary school students

after-school program; under his guidance and inspiration, many of

his students have competed in and won regional and state awards in

15 the Visual Arts Scholastic Education competitions; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Holland has furthered arts education in west 16

Texas by serving as area representative and parliamentarian with

18 the Texas Art Education Association; he has served his community

through his work with the West of the Pecos Rodeo Committee and the

Downtown Pecos Committee, and his contributions as an arts educator

have been recognized with an Educator of the Year Award from the

22 Pecos Area Chamber of Commerce; and

WHEREAS, Walter Holland is an outstanding teacher, and his 23

longstanding commitment to the arts and arts education in west

H.R. No. 740

- 1 Texas is justly deserving of recognition and celebration; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Walter C. Holland on being selected
- 5 to receive the Art Educator of the Year award from the Texas Art
- 6 Education Association and his recognition by the National Art
- 7 Education Association; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Mr. Holland as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 740

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Η.	R	No.	740

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 740 was adopted by the House on March 28, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House