H.R. No. 770

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, St. Patrick's Day is a celebration of Irish 2 heritage, and this occasion provides an opportunity to honor the 3 many contributions that individuals of Irish descent have made to 4 the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, One of the earliest Irish residents of Texas was 6 Hugh O'Connor, who served as governor of the Spanish territory from 7 1767 to 1770; natives of Ireland also played a central role in the 8 settlement of Texas in the early 1800s, including empresarios James 9 McGloin, John McMullen, and James Power, who brought dozens of 10 Irish families to South Texas and the Gulf Coast; and

11 WHEREAS, All three of these men participated in the Texas 12 Revolution, as did Irishmen such as John Joseph Linn, Francis 13 Moore, Jr., and Thomas William Ward; a dozen individuals from the 14 Emerald Isle died defending the Alamo, and 100 Irish-born troops 15 helped win the independence of Texas in the decisive Battle of San 16 Jacinto; and

The number of immigrants from Ireland grew 17 WHEREAS, dramatically in the mid-1800s, and several prominent Irish natives 18 made their mark during that period; Samuel McKinney was an early 19 president of Austin College, Father Michael Sheehan established the 20 21 first Catholic church in Austin and became one of the first 22 full-time Catholic chaplains in the U.S. Army, and Peter Gallagher 23 served as a Texas Ranger and helped organize Pecos County; later in the 19th century, Irishman John William Mallet served as the first 24

1

1 faculty chairman at The University of Texas at Austin, and artist 2 Henry Arthur McArdle produced many famous paintings inspired by 3 Texas history, some of which now hang in the State Capitol; and

4 WHEREAS, With the passing decades, additional people from Ireland found a new home in Texas, and they and the descendents of 5 6 previous immigrants have had an enduring influence on the state's lifestyle and development; today, Irish culture is celebrated in 7 8 formal programs such as the Center for Irish Studies at the University of St. Thomas in Houston, as well as in statewide St. 9 Patrick's Day celebrations, and it is appropriate to join with 10 thousands of other residents in recognizing the significant role 11 that Irish Americans have played in the story of the Lone Star 12 State; now, therefore, be it 13

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the state's vital Irish heritage and extend Happy St. Patrick's Day wishes to all Irish Americans.

Murphy

H.R. No. 770

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 770

Miles

Miller

H.R. No. 770

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 770 was adopted by the House on March 15, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House