H.R. No. 776

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, An innovative group of oil entrepreneurs is being

2 honored as the team of Samuel H. Marshall, William S. Marshall, and

Donald Winston is inducted into the Petroleum Hall of Fame on April

4 26, 2007; and

3

6

7

9

11

12

13

14

16

17

22

5 WHEREAS, The Petroleum Hall of Fame, which is based at the

Petroleum Museum in Midland, recognizes individuals who have made

outstanding contributions to the development of the petroleum

8 industry or who have inspired others through their achievements,

service, or strength of character; and

10 WHEREAS, The principal figures behind Marshall & Winston, Sam

Marshall, Bill Marshall, and Don Winston, created a prominent oil

exploration and producing company that has been in business for

nearly 80 years; Sam Marshall and Don Winston, now both deceased,

founded the firm in 1928 after meeting one another in Los Angeles;

15 previously, Mr. Marshall had discovered the Getty Pool in New

Mexico while working as a petroleum geologist for Getty Oil; from

the beginning, Marshall & Winston focused their efforts on New

18 Mexico and Texas; the company began to make significant discoveries

in the early 1940s and continued its success in the years following

20 World War II; and

21 WHEREAS, Bill Marshall joined the company in 1958 and helped

discover the Portal Field; settling in Midland, he became the

23 president of Marshall & Winston in 1967 and in the following decades

24 oversaw its expansion, which was spurred by a lucrative oil

H.R. No. 776

- 1 discovery in Concho County; today, Marshall & Winston conducts
- 2 operations in six states; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Both Sam Marshall and Don Winston were active in
- 4 their local communities, and Bill Marshall has carried on that
- 5 tradition, supporting many Midland-area institutions, including
- 6 the Midland College Foundation, the Museum of the Southwest, and
- 7 First Presbyterian Church of Midland; he is also a member of
- 8 industry organizations such as the American Association of
- 9 Petroleum Geologists and the Permian Basin Petroleum Association;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, Exhibiting inspired leadership and employing
- 12 innovative techniques, these three professionals established a
- 13 successful and influential company that has been greatly admired by
- 14 their peers, and their impressive record of achievement truly
- merits this hall of fame commendation; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the team of Samuel H. Marshall,
- 18 William S. Marshall, and Donald Winston on its induction into the
- 19 Petroleum Hall of Fame and honor the leaders of Marshall & Winston
- 20 for their contributions to the oil and gas business that is such a
- vital part of the Texas economy; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Bill Marshall and for the families of Sam Marshall and
- 24 Don Winston as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 25 Representatives.

Craddick

TT D NT 00	
H.R. No. 77	6

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 776 was adopted by the House on March 28, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House