By: Craddick H.R. No. 776

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, An innovative group of oil entrepreneurs is being

honored as the team of Samuel H. Marshall, William S. Marshall, and

Donald Winston is inducted into the Petroleum Hall of Fame on April

4 26, 2007; and

2

3

6

7

9

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

23

5 WHEREAS, The Petroleum Hall of Fame, which is based at the

Petroleum Museum in Midland, recognizes individuals who have made

outstanding contributions to the development of the petroleum

8 industry or who have inspired others through their achievements,

service, or strength of character; and

10 WHEREAS, The principal figures behind Marshall & Winston, Sam

Marshall, Bill Marshall, and Don Winston, created a prominent oil

exploration and producing company that has been in business for

nearly 80 years; Sam Marshall and Don Winston, now both deceased,

founded the firm in 1928 after meeting one another in Los Angeles;

previously, Mr. Marshall had discovered the Getty Pool in New

Mexico while working as a petroleum geologist for Getty Oil; from

the beginning, Marshall & Winston focused their efforts on New

18 Mexico and Texas; the company began to make significant discoveries

in the early 1940s and continued its success in the years following

20 World War II; and

21 WHEREAS, Bill Marshall joined the company in 1958 and helped

22 discover the Portal Field; settling in Midland, he became the

president of Marshall & Winston in 1967 and in the following decades

24 oversaw its expansion, which was spurred by a lucrative oil

H.R. No. 776

- 1 discovery in Concho County; today, Marshall & Winston conducts
- 2 operations in six states; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Both Sam Marshall and Don Winston were active in
- 4 their local communities, and Bill Marshall has carried on that
- 5 tradition, supporting many Midland-area institutions, including
- 6 the Midland College Foundation, the Museum of the Southwest, and
- 7 First Presbyterian Church of Midland; he is also a member of
- 8 industry organizations such as the American Association of
- 9 Petroleum Geologists and the Permian Basin Petroleum Association;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, Exhibiting inspired leadership and employing
- 12 innovative techniques, these three professionals established a
- 13 successful and influential company that has been greatly admired by
- 14 their peers, and their impressive record of achievement truly
- merits this hall of fame commendation; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the team of Samuel H. Marshall,
- 18 William S. Marshall, and Donald Winston on its induction into the
- 19 Petroleum Hall of Fame and honor the leaders of Marshall & Winston
- 20 for their contributions to the oil and gas business that is such a
- vital part of the Texas economy; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Bill Marshall and for the families of Sam Marshall and
- 24 Don Winston as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 25 Representatives.