H.R. No. 795

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2007 marks the 24th anniversary of the 2 founding of Camp Wisdom United Methodist Church of Dallas, and on

March 18, the congregation is commemorating this significant event

4 in the history of the church; and

3

7

8

9

11

12

13

14

18

20

21

5 WHEREAS, "Seasons of Life" is the theme of the celebration,

6 co-chaired by Minnie Anderson and Pat Simpson; the guest minister

is native Texan Dr. Lynn R. Mims, who currently shares his

leadership and strong faith with others as the pastor of Barak

Christian Church in St. Louis, Missouri; and

10 WHEREAS, Camp Wisdom UMC was founded when St. Andrews and

Polk Street Regional United Methodist churches merged on March 24,

1983; its name was derived from West Camp Wisdom Road, the location

of the St. Andrews church; the Reverend Doyle Allen served the

congregation as its first pastor, followed by the Reverends Phillip

15 Hudson, Charles E. Washington, and L. Charles Stovall; Dr. Janet

16 Bell Odom has ably led the church since June 2005; and

WHEREAS, For nearly a quarter-century, Camp Wisdom United

Methodist Church has remained attuned to the changing needs of the

19 community it serves and it stands today as a tribute to the hard

work and dedication of its members, past and present, who have

devoted their time, energy, and financial resources to ensure its

22 continued existence; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

24 Legislature hereby congratulate all those affiliated with Camp

H.R. No. 795

- 1 Wisdom United Methodist Church on the 24th anniversary of its
- 2 founding and extend to its members sincere best wishes for the
- 3 coming years; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Mallory Caraway Davis of Dallas

TT	$\Gamma$	TAT -	705
Н	$\sim$	NO	195

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 795 was adopted by the House on March 14, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House