RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The city of Donna has lost an admired community leader with the death of Forrest L. Jones on February 18, 2007; and WHEREAS, Born in Houston to G. W. Jones, Sr., and Virginia Hester Jones on November 25, 1939, "Champ" Jones was great-grandson of the late A. F. Hester, a founder of the Donna community in the 1890s; and WHEREAS, Mr. Jones started for the Donna Redskins football team throughout his high school career and also lettered in track

and basketball; graduating from Donna High School in 1958 as class salutatorian, he attended Southern Methodist University, where he earned his bachelor's degree in accounting in 1962 and his law

12 degree in 1965; and

WHEREAS, Practicing law in the Donna and Weslaco communities for more than 40 years, Mr. Jones worked for a time with his brother Guy before joining the firm of Smith, McElheran, Lauderdale and Jones in 1976; in 1984, he cofounded the present-day firm of Jones, Galligan, Key and Lozano, L.L.P.; he also worked as a Donna city attorney and as the Donna school attorney was named Most Outstanding Young Lawyer in the State of Texas in 1972; and

WHEREAS, An active member of the community, Mr. Jones served as the board chair of Alamo Bank of Texas, now Frost Bank, and Tan U.S. Sales, Inc./Woodcrafters; a member of the Runn school board and an officer in the Hidalgo County Bar Association, he was also a member of the local Rotary Club and the Donna Chamber of Commerce,

- 1 was a Little League coach, and was active in the Donna Hooks
- 2 Fletcher Memorial Museum and Su Casa de Esperanza; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Fond of hunting, fishing, and reading, as well as
- 4 sports, travel, and mariachi music, Mr. Jones was also deeply
- 5 interested in researching and discussing his family history;
- 6 throughout all his endeavors, he enjoyed the love and support of his
- 7 wife of 43 years, the former Camille Johnston, and their three sons,
- 8 Michael, Matthew, and Mitchell; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Those who were fortunate enough to share in the
- 10 friendship and love of Champ Jones will long miss his charm,
- 11 loyalty, and kindness, but the memory of his warmth and generosity
- 12 will forever occupy a treasured place in their hearts; now,
- 13 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Forrest L. Jones and
- 16 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife,
- 17 Camille; to his sons, Michael and his wife, Kelli, Matthew and his
- 18 wife, Melissa, and Mitchell; to his grandchildren, Chelsea,
- 19 Clayton, Forrest, Joshua, and Emily; to his brothers, Guy and his
- 20 wife, Rebecca, and Larry; and to his other relatives and many
- 21 friends; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 24 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Champ
- 25 Jones.

Martinez

Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 845 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 28, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House