## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A life marked by commendable service to his country
and community drew to a close with the passing of World War II
veteran Norman Randle of Eastland on October 29, 2001; and

WHEREAS, Born on June 29, 1917, in Edgewood, Mr. Randle was raised in Van Zandt County; he married his first wife, the former Pinkie Love, as a young man, and they lived in Eastland and Ranger; and

WHEREAS, In 1942, Mr. Randle enlisted in the U.S. Army and became a member of the 24th Infantry Division, 647th Ordnance; his tour of duty in World War II included service in Europe, New Guinea, the Philippines, and Australia, and he was among the troops who occupied Japan after its surrender; he was awarded the Asiatic-Pacific Campaign Medal with Arrowhead device and the World War II Victory Ribbon; and

WHEREAS, After returning from his military service, Mr. Randle was employed by the Premier Oil Company until it closed and then worked for Ranger College for 20 years; a man of faith, he was a valued member of St. Paul Baptist Church in Ranger, where he was a deacon for 34 years; after Pinkie Randle passed away, Mr. Randle married Ledell King in 1990, and the couple moved to Eastland, where they shared 11 happy years together; and

WHEREAS, A loyal friend to many and a devoted companion to his loved ones, Norman Randle will be deeply missed, but he will always be remembered with great admiration and affection; now, therefore,

- 1 be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Norman Randle and
- 4 extend sincere sympathy to his wife, Ledell Randle, and to his other
- 5 relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 8 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Norman
- 9 Randle.

Keffer

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 847 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 28, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House