By: Madden H.R. No. 854

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Jennifer O'Loughlin-Brooks of Collin County 2 Community College has been named the Texas Professor of the Year for 3 2006 by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and 4 the Council for Advancement and Support of Education; and

WHEREAS, The only national award honoring professors for their teaching, this prestigious accolade recognizes undergraduate level educators as the best in their state as evidenced by their impact on their students, their scholarly approach to instruction, and their overall contributions to education in their school, community, and profession; and

WHEREAS, Ms. O'Loughlin-Brooks earned her master's degree in psychology from Emporia State University in Kansas; she joined the faculty of Collin County Community College in 1995 as an associate professor of psychology, becoming a full-time professor in 2002; and

WHEREAS, Known for her outstanding leadership skills and her dedication to duty, Ms. O'Loughlin-Brooks is an exceptional educator, and it is appropriate to take this opportunity to recognize her; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Jennifer O'Loughlin-Brooks on being named the 2006 Texas Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education and extend to her best wishes

H.R. No. 854

- 1 for the future; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for Ms. O'Loughlin-Brooks as an expression of high regard
- 4 by the Texas House of Representatives.