H.R. No. 865

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Houston Dynamo captured the 2006 Major League
Soccer championship with an impressive victory in the MLS Cup title
game on November 12, 2006; and

WHEREAS, Facing off against the New England Revolution in the championship matchup, the Dynamo came out on top in a hard-fought defensive contest; through regulation play and extra time, both teams managed just a single goal, and the title was decided in a dramatic penalty kick shootout, in which Houston topped New England four to three and claimed the title; and

10 WHEREAS, This momentous victory was a thrilling close to the 11 Dynamo's first season in Houston; previously, the franchise had 12 been the San Jose Earthquakes, but it relocated to Texas before the 13 2006 season, and with the fervent Houston soccer fans cheering the 14 team on, the Dynamo brought home the MLS Cup; and

WHEREAS, In reaching the pinnacle of success, the Dynamo 15 relied on exceptional play from each member of the team: 16 goalkeepers Pat Onstad, Zach Wells, and Martin Hutton, defenders 17 18 Chris Aloisi, Wade Barrett, Ryan Cochrane, Kevin Goldwaite, Kelly Gray, Patrick Ianni, Eddie Robinson, Adrian Serioux, and Craig 19 Waibel, midfielders Mike Chabala, Ricardo Clark, Brad Davis, Dwayne 20 21 De Rosario, Stuart Holden, Aaron Lanes, Mpho Moloi, Brian Mullan, 22 Marcus Storey, and Chris Wondolowski, and forwards Brian Ching, 23 Paul Daglish, Alejandro Moreno, and Julian Nash; and

24 WHEREAS, These talented players were guided by head coach

1

## H.R. No. 865

Dominick Kinnear and assistant coach John Spencer, and they
received vital support from head athletic trainer Bruce Morgan,
team administrator Nick Kowba, and equipment manager Beau Abdulla;
and

5 WHEREAS, Winning a league championship is an accomplishment 6 that requires tremendous perseverance, outstanding skill, and 7 precise teamwork, and in proving to be the top team in Major League 8 Soccer in 2006, the Houston Dynamo has become a welcome new addition 9 to the outstanding sports tradition of the city of Houston and the 10 State of Texas; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Houston Dynamo for winning the 13 2006 Major League Soccer championship and extend best wishes to the 14 players, coaches, and staff for continued success; and, be it 15 further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 18 House of Representatives.

## Hernandez

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

## H.R. No. 865

H.R. No. 865

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 865 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House