By: Hernandez H.R. No. 865

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Houston Dynamo captured the 2006 Major League 2 Soccer championship with an impressive victory in the MLS Cup title 3 game on November 12, 2006; and

WHEREAS, Facing off against the New England Revolution in the championship matchup, the Dynamo came out on top in a hard-fought defensive contest; through regulation play and extra time, both teams managed just a single goal, and the title was decided in a dramatic penalty kick shootout, in which Houston topped New England four to three and claimed the title; and

WHEREAS, This momentous victory was a thrilling close to the Dynamo's first season in Houston; previously, the franchise had been the San Jose Earthquakes, but it relocated to Texas before the 2006 season, and with the fervent Houston soccer fans cheering the team on, the Dynamo brought home the MLS Cup; and

WHEREAS, In reaching the pinnacle of success, the Dynamo relied on exceptional play from each member of the team: goalkeepers Pat Onstad, Zach Wells, and Martin Hutton, defenders Chris Aloisi, Wade Barrett, Ryan Cochrane, Kevin Goldwaite, Kelly Gray, Patrick Ianni, Eddie Robinson, Adrian Serioux, and Craig Waibel, midfielders Mike Chabala, Ricardo Clark, Brad Davis, Dwayne De Rosario, Stuart Holden, Aaron Lanes, Mpho Moloi, Brian Mullan, Marcus Storey, and Chris Wondolowski, and forwards Brian Ching, Paul Daglish, Alejandro Moreno, and Julian Nash; and

24 WHEREAS, These talented players were guided by head coach

H.R. No. 865

- 1 Dominick Kinnear and assistant coach John Spencer, and they
- 2 received vital support from head athletic trainer Bruce Morgan,
- 3 team administrator Nick Kowba, and equipment manager Beau Abdulla;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, Winning a league championship is an accomplishment
- 6 that requires tremendous perseverance, outstanding skill, and
- 7 precise teamwork, and in proving to be the top team in Major League
- 8 Soccer in 2006, the Houston Dynamo has become a welcome new addition
- 9 to the outstanding sports tradition of the city of Houston and the
- 10 State of Texas; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Houston Dynamo for winning the
- 13 2006 Major League Soccer championship and extend best wishes to the
- 14 players, coaches, and staff for continued success; and, be it
- 15 further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 18 House of Representatives.