H.R. No. 873

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately convey the deep sorrow 2 caused by the tragic death of Melissa Cruz of Sanderson, who passed 3 away on February 1, 2007, at the age of 16; and

WHEREAS, Born on June 8, 1990, in Del Rio, Melissa Cruz leaves 4 5 behind a bedroom full of medals and trophies that were proof of her 6 athletic talent; she played basketball with the Sanderson High School Lady Eagles and was a track and cross-country star, both for 7 Sanderson High and for teams in Comstock, where she previously 8 resided; she was also a member of the Sanderson cheerleading squad, 9 and her participation in her many activities distinguished her as 10 11 an outgoing young woman of great promise; and

WHEREAS, Popular at school and known for her quick wit and lively attitude, Ms. Cruz was dubbed with the nickname "Sassy" by the members of the Del Rio Gypsy Motorcycle Club; her father serves as president of the group, and Ms. Cruz had the distinction of being named a junior member of the club when she was just three years old; and

18 WHEREAS, Melissa Cruz was a spirited young woman, and though 19 her presence will be deeply missed, her memory will long endure in 20 the hearts of the many people whose lives she touched during her 21 time on earth; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Melissa Cruz and extend deepest sympathy to the members of her family: to her

1

H.R. No. 873

parents, Carlos Ruben and Laura Flores Cruz; to her maternal grandparents, Raul and Luz Flores; to her paternal grandparents, Alex and Berta Romo and Richard and Josie Hernandez; to her brother, Carlos Ruben Cruz, Jr.; and to her other relatives and many friends; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 8 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Melissa 9 Cruz.

Gallego

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 873

H.R. No. 873

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 873 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 5, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House