By: Garcia H.R. No. 882

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Islanders men's basketball team of Texas A&M
University-Corpus Christi has captured the hearts of Texas sports
fans by winning the 2007 Southland Conference Tournament on March
11 and earning a chance to play in the prestigious NCAA Division I
Championship; and

WHEREAS, This represents the team's first appearance in the NCAA tournament, the riveting sports spectacle that is known to fans as "the Big Dance"; the Islanders will now take their shot at winning the national championship as they do battle with the best college teams in the country; and

WHEREAS, In capturing the Southland title with their victory over Northwestern State University, the Islanders fulfilled the promise they have shown all season long; the team enters the NCAA tournament with a record of 26 wins and just six losses and a red-hot winning streak that has extended to six games; and

WHEREAS, Coming just eight years after Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi fielded its first basketball team, this achievement has sparked basketball fever among the university's students, faculty, and alumni as well as the many other fans of this thrilling team; and

21 WHEREAS, The Islanders basketball squad stands as an 22 inspiring example of the stellar results that can come from hard 23 work and spirited play, and the team's victorious season has 24 brought further acclaim to the proud sports tradition of the Lone

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

H.R. No. 882

- 1 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate the men's basketball team of Texas
- 4 A&M University-Corpus Christi on winning the 2007 Southland
- 5 Conference Tournament and earning a berth in the NCAA Division I
- 6 Championship and extend best wishes to the players and coaches for
- 7 success in basketball's Big Dance; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for university president Flavius Killebrew, athletic
- 10 director Brian Teter, coach Ronnie Arrow, and each member of the
- 11 team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 12 Representatives.