H.R. No. 883

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Rio Hondo High School Band has brought great honor to its school and community through its record of outstanding performances in competitions in recent years; and

WHEREAS, The placement of nine Rio Hondo band members in the 2007 Association of Texas Small School Bands All-State Band is the organization's most recent achievement; those students are Marco Alfaro, Stephen Cortez, Charles Garza, Ben Hernandez, Jacob Medeiros, Danielle Moreno, Omero Reyes, Frank Sanchez, and Jackie Tovar; the selection of these talented band members has earned their school the distinction of having placed more students in this year's All-State Band than any other school in the state; and

WHEREAS, Currently led by directors Robert Garza, John Garza, Valorie Garza, David Noyola, Juan Benavides, and Rolando Reyes, the Bobcat Band has been a finalist in the Texas Music Educators Association Honor Band Competition for four of the past seven years and placed fourth in the state for 2006; moreover, the band ranked fourth in the 2006 Texas Educational Colorguard Association Winterguard State Championships; and

WHEREAS, Other notable accomplishments include the Rio Hondo band's impressive performances in UIL competitions; named the UIL Area E Marching Band Champions from 2002 to 2006, the band took fourth place in the UIL State Marching Band Contest in 2006; in addition, the Bobcats have accumulated 10 consecutive UIL sweepstakes awards; and

H.R. No. 883

- 1 WHEREAS, The members and directors of the Rio Hondo High
- 2 School Band have demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication, and
- 3 it is a pleasure to recognize them for their remarkable record of
- 4 achievement; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate all those associated with the Rio
- 7 Hondo High School Band on their successes and extend to them best
- 8 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the band as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 11 House of Representatives.

Escobar

H.R. No. 883

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

TT	-	7. T	883
_	-	NO	RRRR

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 883 was adopted by the House on March 22, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House