H.R. No. 890

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sherran Geistmann, a teacher at Ballinger High

School, has been chosen as one of the winners of the 2006 University

3 Interscholastic League Sponsor Excellence Awards; and

4 WHEREAS, This prestigious accolade recognizes outstanding

5 individuals who play a special role in the lives of Texas students

by serving as directors, sponsors, or coaches of league-sanctioned

7 extracurricular activities; and

8 WHEREAS, One of 15 recipients selected by a panel of judges,

Ms. Geistmann was awarded \$1,000 along with a keepsake from the UIL

that symbolizes her dedication to aiding character-building

11 student competition; and

2

6

9

10

13

14

16

17

12 WHEREAS, This dedicated teacher has been involved in UIL

academic events for 20 years; during her tenure at Ballinger High,

she has coached the school's public speaking, debate, and one-act

15 play competitors; her success in guiding these students is

evident: many of the public-speaking contestants have qualified

for the state meet, the cross-examination debate team has reached

18 the state tournament 13 times, the one-act play company has made it

19 to the regionals, and five of her students have become individual

20 state champions; and

21 WHEREAS, Ms. Geistmann's enduring commitment to the young

22 people of her community is a source of pride and inspiration to her

23 school district and to her colleagues, and she is most deserving of

24 special recognition; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 890

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

Legislature hereby congratulate Sherran Geistmann for her receipt

of a UIL Sponsor Excellence Award and offer her best wishes for

continued success as an educator and mentor; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

prepared for Ms. Geistmann as an expression of high regard by the

Texas House of Representatives.

Hilderbran

TT	_	7. T	290
	-	$N \cap$	2011

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 890 was adopted by the House on April 5, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House