H.R. No. 893

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Dallas law firm Burford & Ryburn, LLP, received

the Texas Treasure Business Award from the Texas Historical

3 Commission on January 27, 2007; and

2

5

6

7

10

11

12

13

16

17

WHEREAS, The Texas Treasure Business Award honors businesses

that have made significant and lasting contributions toward the

economic growth and prosperity of Texas; it is presented to

businesses that have existed in Texas for at least 50 years and that

8 continue to benefit the citizens of the Lone Star State; and

9 WHEREAS, Founded in Dallas on January 27, 1907,

Burford & Ryburn, LLP, was instrumental in the creation of the

state's first utility, the Texas Power & Light Company; the firm

also wrote the first charter for the Baptist Foundation of Texas and

played an important role in the organization and development of

14 Lone Star Steel Company; and

WHEREAS, The attorneys of Burford & Ryburn, LLP, possess

experience and expertise in an array of legal areas, including

business law, employment law, energy law, health law, and

immigration law, among others; the firm is justifiably proud of its

19 many long-standing client relationships, some of which date back

20 more than 50 years; and

21 WHEREAS, By taking an active role in the evolution of the Lone

22 Star State, Burford & Ryburn, LLP, has helped improve the quality of

23 life of countless Texans, and its receipt of the Texas Treasure

24 Business Award is indeed well deserved; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 893

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize Burford & Ryburn, LLP, on its receipt
- 3 of the Texas Treasure Business Award and commend the many
- 4 individuals who have contributed to the success of this respected
- 5 law practice; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Burford & Ryburn, LLP, as an expression of high regard
- 8 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Branch

## H.R. No. 893

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr.
Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb	Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes	Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle
Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler	Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz	Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson
Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia	Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt	Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

<b>TT</b>	_	3. T	002
Н	$\nu$	$N \cap$	$\simeq$ $\alpha$ $\prec$

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 893 was adopted by the House on March 22, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House