H.R. No. 899

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Since the early 20th century, extension service 2 agents have helped to improve the lives of countless Texans and 3 contributed immeasurably to the development of the Lone Star State; 4 and 5 WHEREAS, Extension work in Texas dates back to 1903, when Dr. 6 Seaman A. Knapp, a U.S. Department of Agriculture special agent for 7 promotion of agriculture in the South, conducted a

demonstration project at the Walter C. Porter farm in Kaufman County; the success of the project quickly led to the launching of myriad other demonstration farms, as well as to the establishment

of the first program in the country whereby an agricultural agent

12 would serve a single county; that program was initiated with the

13 hiring of William C. Stallings in Smith County in 1906; and

8

9

10

11

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

WHEREAS, To encourage an interest in improved agricultural and domestic science techniques, boys' and girls' clubs, the forerunners of 4-H, were also established; and

WHEREAS, In 1914 the U.S. Congress passed the Smith-Lever Act, a measure requiring each state to set up a cooperative extension service that would be funded jointly by federal, state, and local governments; based at the land-grant universities, these outreach programs were intended to foster agricultural development and improve the lives of rural Americans by providing practical information and training based on university research; and

WHEREAS, Texas, which by that time had a burgeoning extension

H.R. No. 899

- 1 program, created extension services at Texas A&M University and at
- 2 Prairie View A&M University; now known respectively as Texas
- 3 Cooperative Extension and the Cooperative Extension Program, these
- 4 services are both administered under the auspices of The Texas A&M
- 5 University System; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Today, county extension agents and extension
- 7 specialists develop a wide array of educational and technology
- 8 training programs in response to the needs of their local
- 9 communities, both rural and urban, in all 254 counties of the state;
- 10 program areas include agriculture and natural resources, 4-H and
- 11 youth development, family and consumer sciences, and community
- 12 resources and economic development; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to the historic mission of
- 14 cooperative extension, staff members of the Texas extension system
- 15 continue to promote lifelong learning for the purposes of
- 16 self-improvement, individual action, and community
- 17 problem-solving, and they are indeed deserving of commendation for
- 18 their outstanding public service; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby honor the personnel of Texas Cooperative
- 21 Extension and the Prairie View A&M Cooperative Extension Program
- 22 for their substantial contributions to enhancing individual
- 23 quality of life, strengthening local communities, and furthering
- the economic prosperity of this state.

Swinford

H.R. No. 899

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto
Burnam Callegari Castro	Heflin Hernandez Herrero	Parker Patrick Paxton
Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb	Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes	Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle
Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel	Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala	Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons
Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias	Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez	Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey
Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia	Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt	Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

TT	_	3. T	2 a a
	-	$N \cap$	200

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 899 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House