H.R. No. 908

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Reverend Dr. Stephen C. Nash is serving as
Pastor of the Day for the Texas House of Representatives on March
20, 2007; and

WHEREAS, The president and CEO of SCN Ministries, Inc., and author of several books, Reverend Nash has garnered more than 35 years of pastoral experience and currently leads Mt. Tabor Baptist Church in Dallas; and

WHEREAS, Reverend Nash shares his time with a host of 8 professional and civic organizations, serving as president of the 9 Texas Interdenominational Ministers' Alliance, vice president at 10 11 large of the Baptist Missionary and Education State Convention of 12 Texas, moderator of the Northwestern District Association, parliamentarian of the Dallas Black Chamber of Commerce, and 13 14 chairman of the board of education for the Council on Domestic Violence; and 15

16 WHEREAS, A graduate of Bishop College, Reverend Nash earned 17 master of arts degrees in biblical studies, divinity, and religious 18 education from Aspen Theological Seminary, from which he later 19 earned doctorates in urban ministries, Christian education, and 20 Christian counseling; and

21 WHEREAS, This notable Texan has received a number of 22 accolades for his work; named 2003 Minister of the Year by the 23 Interdenominational Ministerial Alliance, he was inducted into the 24 *Elite News* Religious Hall of Fame, and earned the 1988 George Woods'

1

H.R. No. 908

1 Civil Rights Award from the Lubbock NAACP; and

2 WHEREAS, Reverend Nash inspires all his listeners with his 3 message of faith, hope, and love, and we are most fortunate to have 4 him with us today; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 6 Legislature hereby express its sincere appreciation to the Reverend 7 Dr. Stephen C. Nash for his service as Pastor of the Day for this 8 chamber and extend to him warmest best wishes for continued success 9 and fulfillment in his ministry.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 908

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 908 was adopted by the House on April 5, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House