H.R. No. 924

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A respected religious leader who guided members of the Catholic faith in both the United States and Europe, the Reverend Father Jose Roig Ferrer passed away on March 1, 2007, in Palma de Mallorca, Spain, at the age of 77; and

WHEREAS, Father Ferrer was born in the town of Costitx, on the Spanish island of Mallorca, and was received into priesthood in 1956 after studying in the seminary; he remained on Mallorca, serving as an educator at Santa Monica High School for 40 years and as a professor at a local university for 18 years; and

WHEREAS, Particularly interested in using faith to strengthen the bonds among families, Father Ferrer founded a branch of the Catholic outreach organization Christian Family Movement on his native island; moreover, he led three-day religious retreats, or Cursillos, in both Spain and the United States; during his visits to the U.S., he spent time in Central Texas in the summer months for more than 25 years, where his service included marriage counseling at Catholic churches; and

WHEREAS, With his influence spanning two countries, Father Ferrer was held in the highest regard by all who knew him; he brought a generosity of spirit, an unfailing integrity, and a sense of purpose to all of his endeavors, and his kind and caring nature will be greatly missed by all who knew him; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of the Reverend Father

H.R. No. 924

- 1 Jose Roig Ferrer and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his
- 2 family: to his sister, Magdalena; to his many nieces and nephews;
- 3 and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 6 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Father Jose
- 7 Roig Ferrer.

Dunnam

H.R. No. 924

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 924 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 13, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House